Cayman Island

The Cayman Islands are located in the western Caribbean Sea.  The islands lie in the centre of the Caribbean south of Cuba and west of Jamaica. They are situated about 400 miles (650 km) south of Miami, 180 miles (300 km) south of Cuba, and 195 miles (315 km) northwest of Jamaica. Grand Cayman is by far the biggest, with an area of 76 square miles (197 km²). The two "Sister Islands" of Cayman Brac and Little Cayman are located about 80 miles (130 km) east of Grand Cayman and have areas of 14 square miles (36 km²) and 10 square miles (25.9 km²) respectively.

Cayman Brac is an island that lies about 143 km northeast of Grand Cayman in the Caribbean Sea. It is about 19 km long, with an average width of 2 km, meaning that the total area is approximately 38 square km (14.7 square miles).[1] Its terrain is the most spectacular of the three Cayman Islands. "The Bluff", a massive central limestone outcrop, rises steadily along the length of the island up to 43 m above the sea at the eastern end. The island is named after this prominent feature, as Brac is a Gaelic name for a bluff. Cayman Brac is known as a haven of pirates and a place they replenish their supplies

Christopher Columbus sighted Cayman Brac and its sister island, Little Cayman, in 1503 when his ship was blown off course during a trip between Hispaniola and Panama. He named them "Las Tortugas" because of the many tortoises he spotted on the islands. The Cayman Islands were renamed by Sir Francis Drake, who landed on them during a voyage in 1585-86. He used the word "Caymanas", taken from the Carib name for crocodiles after he mistook the local rock iguanas for crocodilian. 

Pirates are known to use Cayman Brac as a haven and a place to replenish their supplies.

Beach at Cayman Brac
Cayman Brac from the beach

Cayman Brac from the air

Cayman Brac